The Best Things In Life Aren’t Things 

8/25

I left the main world this morning. I meant to type mainland but, world fits my feelings a little more accurately. I’ve been in the middle of a whirl wind of emotions, asking myself why I choose to go on this adventure. Granted, this program will be the final 2 credits of my B.A. In Communications. But, why there and this? Am I unable to be happy where I am at? Did I not know how else to get out of that shitty relationship? Is it just where I’m suppose to be? Hawaii has never really been on my agenda. Actually, it’s the opposite of what I’ve been saying I’m going to do. Anyone who’s asked me what I want to do with my life I’ve told them about my bus. I’ve been manifesting that goal for a while now. Three years now to be exact. And what do I do? I jump on an opportunity to go to an island. But, if something is meant to be it will come full circle. So here I am on a one way flight to Hawaii, praying things come full circle.

    While working one of my last shifts at my former job in Mankato, my coworker mentioned she wanted to give me a practical gift, something I would use. Sam and her boyfriend had recently bought an old camper van off of a hippy man and his dog. My first instinct was to tell her if she really wanted to give me something, I’d take that van off her hands and just skip the whole Hawaii thing. Instead, I asked if she’d give me a sticker out of the van that had been placed there by the previous owner. Sure enough she walks into my going away party with a half sticky sticker that says “The best things in life aren’t things.” It’s perfect. I turn to my new friend, a hippy man with a dog, whom I met a few weeks prior at a grassroots music festival located about 30 minutes outside of town. “Look at my new sticker, Hyde.” To which he replies, “That was one of the first stickers I put in that van.” Full circle. 

    I added some duck tape to the back of my new novelty and stuck it to the front of my hot pink suitcase. A good reminder. Down sizing from a whole apartment to a pile of things to bring to my parents was easy. Down sizing from my pile of things at my parents to a suitcase,backpack, and a carry on….not so much. This must be another full circle. “The most important things in life aren’t things” I can do this. 

    My flight departed at 6:12am on Thursday morning. With my previous luck at the O’Hare airport, I didn’t want to risk missing this 10 hour flight with a layover in LAX. The dearest Kara, Jenna, and Caleb took me to the cities the night before to spend the night at our friend Erikas who live’s so close to the airport you can hear the planes fly over her house. With these 4 loving hearts by my side and being so close to the airport, how could anything go wrong? You know, cause “The best things in life aren’t things.” With 4 hours until I had to be at the airport I go to squeeze my work in boots into which ever bag had the most room and realize, there’s only two bags. I left my carry on outside Jennas apartment next to where the car was parked. With face flush, heavy breathing, and shaking hands we weighed the pros and cons of, going back and getting it or do they just mail it? The bag only contained my pillow, comfort blanket,a couple articles of clothing, and a few odds and ends. I can live with out it for a few days. I have my technology, tent, bug spray, and clothing. Plus, “The best things in life aren’t things.” Full circle, so I thought.

    After a tear filled goodbye to my 3 Yas Queens and Caleb I check my suitcase with the sticker and go to wait for my flight. My flight that hit a bird on it’s last journey and needed to be delayed for maitnince. Shout out to United and Delta for their great customer service, they promptly got me switched to another flight where I would not have to worry about missing my connecting flight. My suitcase did not have the same fate. They assured me it would get to me in good time and they could have it delivered to my hotel. The hole in this plan, my “hotel” was inside that suitcase. But alas, “The best things in life aren’t things.” Full circle.
As I continue on this adventure, for the next 6 weeks I am going to document how my time with HIP Agriculture makes my degree come full circle. I am going to be doing a lot of farming paired with classroom lectures and discussions. Learning will include natural and traditional Hawaiian farming methods. This will also provide me with an inside glimps at the business aspect of farming. I’ll get the chance to participate in farm events and selling our food at the farmers market. The part of this experience I am most excited about though, is the community aspect of it. I have a feeling this farm will push my communication skills to a new level. A group of strangers with one common bond will be living, eating, working and playing together for 6 weeks. Not only is this a challenge to expand my knowledge but my heart as well. Because the best things in life aren’t thing’s, they are the people you meet along the way and the lessons you learn.


Where we stayed the first night

My friend Kellen, she picked me up from the airport


A store in Hilo, I wish they were open.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

